Vote for your System Change Hero 2020

10 December 2019

The Golden Key partnership is bringing about change at every level for Bristol citizens with the most complex needs. The Great Practice Awards 2020 will reflect this aspiration, celebrating the work of individuals, organisations and networks that are creating systemic change across the city.

vote here! - vote here! - vote here! - vote here! - vote here! - vote here!


We have welcomed nominations from across the city and are pleased to announce the shortlists for all six categories:

(To learn more about each category please follow this link.)

  • Inspiring Learning Award

    • Bridging Gaps
    • Helen Roper
    • Bristol Refugee Rights and Bristol Hospitality Network
    • The Practitioner’s Forum
    • Design in the Public Sector
    • Bristol Refugee Rights
  • PIEoneering Change Award

    • Louise Wratten
    • The West of England Hearing Implant Programme
    • Matt Burton
    • 1625 Independent People
    • Jo Davies
  • Developing Trust Award

    • John Summerill
    • Alex Bowsher and Bex Ashton
    • Tracey Tudor
    • Sarah Dickenson
    • Sophie Wilsdon
  • Cultivating Change Award

    • Paula Ratcliffe
    • Lisa Murfin
    • Alison Comley
  • Independent Futures Award

    • Bridging Gaps
    • Annette Parsons
    • Tracey Harvey
    • BNSSG Clinical Commissioning Group
  • System Change Hero Award

    • Karl Durrant
    • Zoe Short
    • Lisa Murfin
    • Chris Green

The first five awards will be decided by panels of system change enthusiasts and people with lived experience. The System Change Hero Award will be decided by a public vote. Deadline for voting is Thursday 16th January 2020 at 12 noon.​

System Change Hero Award

The System Change Hero Award is your chance to have your say! This award applauds the individuals who are working to make the system better for everyone. This person takes the bigger picture into account, making connections, sharing learning and working across organisational boundaries to create better experiences for people with complex needs using services.

As specified above, the nominees for this award are:

  • Karl Durrant (Rapid Rehousing Pathway Link Worker)
  • Chris Green (Police Sergeant, Avon and Somerset Constabulary)
  • Lisa Murfin (Housing Team Manager, Second Step)
  • Zoe Short (Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner)


To read more about the nominees and place your vote, visit the link below:

Vote here for your System Change Hero!


Awards night

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at the Watershed on 22 January 2020 (5.30-7pm). Each winner will be presented with their award by Deputy Mayor of Bristol, Councillor Asher Craig.

To attend the awards ceremony please book your free ticket here.



vote here! - vote here! - vote here! - vote here! - vote here! - vote here!



By shining a spotlight on what is working well, we can all learn together and begin to improve the system as a whole.